Week Nine – It’s Moving Time!

It’s finally here! I can’t believe that we’re finally moving. I don’t know how many times I’ve said it to myself in the last 24 hours. It feels like it’s been an extremely long process. It really has been, too. Mr. WTF and I have been discussing the possibility of moving for a few years. It first started with, “No, we’re never going to move,” and then slowly but surely, over the years we started seeing more need for us to go. Now, here we are. Getting ready to close one chapter of our lives to write a new one. 

Needless to say, there wasn’t a whole lot going on last week other than packing and preparing ourselves for the move. The kids took a lot of pics of the house “so they remember what it looks like.” Normally, I would have deleted all the pictures that they took, but I kept them in case they ask to see them. Both have been expressing that they are very sad to be leaving our house and family. Attitudes have been at an all time high as a result. I can’t say that I really blame them, but there’s been more yelling around here too. They’ve been getting numerous extra treats and have extended screen time to help ease the stress, but they still are having a difficult time processing. By extended screen time, I really just mean that they’ve been on tablets or watching tv so that I can get stuff done. 

Behold, the sheer amount of spoiling that has been going on around here.

So, it’s finally here. By the time this post goes up, we’ll be on the road to Bend. The movers are at the house as I write this. We will take off in the morning so that we’re fresh. I woke up at 4:45am and couldn’t go back to sleep because I was thinking of the things we needed to finish packing before the movers came (bedside table lamps, bedding, towels, etc.), so it’s a good thing that we didn’t plan to leave today anyway. 

California will always be home.


by

Tags:

Comments

Leave a comment